Robert Zandvliet, Tanga (aus der Serie STONES), 2012. Tempera auf Leinwand, 172 x 144 cm - © Der Künstler. Courtesy Bernhard Knaus Fine Art, Frankfurt
Robert Zandvliet, Tanga (aus der Serie STONES), 2012. Tempera auf Leinwand, 172 x 144 cm
© Der Künstler. Courtesy Bernhard Knaus Fine Art, Frankfurt
Image 1/
Exhibitions 24.04.2015 – 06.09.2015 CHF 18.00 / red. CHF 14.00

Stone of Light. Crystal Visions in Art

Crystal is precious. It has a regular structure and symbolizes spirituality in matter. For this reason it has inspired artists since romanticism. The Gothic cathedral, the architecture of light, is seen as a symbol of renewal by C.D. Friedrich. Modern architects such as Bruno Taut again took up this notion, and artists such as Lyonel Feininger, Adolf Hölzel and Paul Klee made their paintings resemble crystalline structures. Joseph Beuys saw crystal as symbolizing the cold pole of analytical thought, whereas Meret Oppenheim rediscovered its magical qualities. The exhibition focuses on art from romanticism to the present through a crystal lens.

Romanticism found a new aesthetic principle in the structure intrinsic to crystals in rocks and masses of ice while the majestic sublime of the alpine world asserted itself alongside grace and beauty.Bruno Taut and other modernist architects adapted to modern times the utopian idea of the Gothic cathedral of light of the romantics.Painters such as Lyonel Feininger, Paul Klee, or Fritz Winter in particular found in crystal a matrix that provided the structural framework for their new approaches to painting.The crystalline appearance of their work helped them discard outdated notions of realistic art, so they could make more profound statements on the nature of things.

In modernism, artists have interpreted crystal in new ways altogether.For Joseph Beuys it signified the icy pole of analytic thought, which demanded the warmth of social action.Meret Oppenheim’s crystal fountain brings static forms to life through water.Robert Zandvliet makes the inner beauty of the “stones of light” shine in his large-format paintings.And finally, the installations of the artist duo Steiner & Lenzlinger in the exhibition draw on the resemblance between crystal and plant growth by proliferating urea crystals, the basic substance of artificial fertilizer in modern agriculture.

With Stone of Light:Crystal Visions in Art, the Kunstmuseum is continuing its tradition of themed exhibitions like Six feet under, Lust and Vice, or The Weak Sex

Robert Zandvliet, Tanga (aus der Serie STONES), 2012. Tempera auf Leinwand, 172 x 144 cm - © Der Künstler. Courtesy Bernhard Knaus Fine Art, Frankfurt
Robert Zandvliet, Tanga (aus der Serie STONES), 2012. Tempera auf Leinwand, 172 x 144 cm
© Der Künstler. Courtesy Bernhard Knaus Fine Art, Frankfurt
Bild 1/
Ausstellungen 24.04.2015 – 06.09.2015 CHF 18.00 / red. CHF 14.00

Stein aus Licht. Kristallvisionen in der Kunst

Der Kristall ist kostbar, hat klare Strukturen und symbolisiert das Geistige in der Materie. Deshalb hat er Künstler seit der Romantik inspiriert. Der gotische Lichtdom wird bei C.D. Friedrich zum Sinnbild der Erneuerung. Moderne Architekten wie Bruno Taut nehmen diese Idee auf und Maler wie Lyonel Feininger, Adolf Hölzel und Paul Klee kristallisieren ihre Bilder gleichsam. Für Joseph Beuys symbolisiert der Kristall den Kältepol analytischen Denkens, während Meret Oppenheim wieder magische Aspekte entdeckt. Durch die Brille des Kristalls wirft die Ausstellung einen Blick auf die Kunst von der Romantik bis in die Gegenwart.

Die Romantik entdeckte in Felsen oder Eismassen das kristalline Ordnungsprinzip einer neuen Ästhetik: neben das lieblich Schöne trat das majestätisch Erhabene der Bergwelt. Bruno Taut und andere Architekten der Moderne übertragen die utopische Idee des gotischen Lichtdoms aus der Romantik in die Moderne. Vor allem für Maler wie Lyonel Feininger, Paul Klee oder Fritz Winter wird der Kristall dann zu einer Matrix, die das Gerüst ihrer neuen Malerei bildet. Indem sie ihre Werke gleichsam kristallisieren, lösen sie sich von überholten Vorstellungen realistischer Kunst und treffen tiefere Aussagen über die Natur der Dinge.

In der Moderne finden Künstler neue Interpretationen für den Kristall. Für Joseph Beuys gilt er etwa als Kältepol analytischen Denkens, der durch soziales Handeln erwärmt werden muss. Durch Wasser erweckt der Kristallbrunnen Meret Oppenheims starre Formen zum Leben. Die Schönheit im Inneren der „Steine aus Licht“ macht Robert Zandvliet in seiner grossformatigen Malerei sichtbar. Kristall- und Pflanzenwachstum werden schliesslich in den Installationen des Künstlerduos Steiner & Lenzlinger gleichgesetzt, indem sie in der Ausstellung Harnstoffkristalle, die Grundlage unseres Kunstdüngers in der Landwirtschaft, wuchern lassen.

Mit Stein aus Licht. Kristallvisionen in der Kunst setzt das Kunstmuseum Bern seine Tradition von Themenausstellungen wie Six feet under, Lust und Laster oder Das schwache Geschlecht fort.