Florian Slotawa. Berner Sockel, 2010. (4-teilig, diverse Masse und
Materialien). Hermann und Margrit Rupf-Stiftung, Kunstmuseum Bern - © 2011, ProLitteris, Zürich
Florian Slotawa. Berner Sockel, 2010. (4-teilig, diverse Masse und Materialien). Hermann und Margrit Rupf-Stiftung, Kunstmuseum Bern
© 2011, ProLitteris, Zürich
Image 1/
Exhibitions 14.09.2011 – 08.01.2012

Insights into the wealth of the outstanding Rupf Foundation collection

«Rectangle and Square» From Picasso to Judd – Rupf Foundation Acquisitions

At the beginning of the 20th century, Hermann and Margrit Rupf laid the foundations for a collection now seen as one of the leading of its kind for European modern art. Not only the vast number of high-profile artworks makes this collection remarkable but also the fact that Hermann Rupf acquired the majority of them in the same year they were executed. Because a foundation was established in the Kunstmuseum Bern in the 1950s, the collection is open to the public and, right up to the present, being constantly enlarged. The exhibition “Rectangle and Square”. From Picasso to Judd – Rupf Foundation Acquisitions will, for the first time, give a comprehensive view of the acquisitions accumulated by the foundation since it was established. 

The foundation focused – like the collector couple had previously done – especially on purchasing contemporary art. Today its holdings reflect not only a fascinating overview of one hundred years of art history but also display the preferences of the private collection.

Besides key groups of works by Picasso, Braque, Klee, or Kandinsky, the foundation holdings also include superb minimal, concrete, and Group Zero art, as well as work by esteemed individual artists such as Markus Rätz and Meret Oppenheim.

A group of artworks by the conceptual artist Vaclav Pozarek (resident in Bern) and by Florian Slotawa is among the foundation’s most recent acquisitions. Both artists explore art concepts and strategies foregrounding the object and space, thereby presenting a compelling sequel to Hermann Rupf’s emphasis on collecting cubist art.

Buy the catalogue and poster More

Florian Slotawa. Berner Sockel, 2010. (4-teilig, diverse Masse und
Materialien). Hermann und Margrit Rupf-Stiftung, Kunstmuseum Bern - © 2011, ProLitteris, Zürich
Florian Slotawa. Berner Sockel, 2010. (4-teilig, diverse Masse und Materialien). Hermann und Margrit Rupf-Stiftung, Kunstmuseum Bern
© 2011, ProLitteris, Zürich
Bild 1/
Ausstellungen 14.09.2011 – 08.01.2012

Einblick in das hochkarätige Sammlungsgut der Rupf-Stiftung

«Rectangle and Square» Von Picasso bis Judd, Erwerbungen der Rupf-Stiftung

Hermann und Margrit Rupf legten zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts den Grundstein zu einer Sammlung, die zu den bedeutendsten der Klassischen Moderne in Europa gerechnet werden kann. Das Besondere liegt nicht nur in der Vielzahl von hochkarätigen Werken, sondern auch in der Tatsache, dass Hermann Rupf die Arbeiten mehrheitlich im Jahr deren Entstehung erwerben konnte. Dank der Errichtung einer Stiftung am Kunstmuseum Bern in den 1950er Jahren ist die Sammlung für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und kann ausserdem bis heute erweitert werden. Die Ausstellung „Rectangle and Square“. Von Picasso bis Judd, Erwerbungen der Rupf-Stiftung gibt nun zum ersten Mal umfassenden Einblick in die Sammlungstätigkeit der Stiftung seit deren Gründung. 

Die Stiftung fokussierte – wie das Sammlerpaar zuvor – vor allem auf Ankäufe von zeitgenössischer Kunst. Das Stiftungsgut bietet heute nicht nur einen wunderbaren Überblick über hundert Jahre Kunstgeschichte, sondern widerspiegelt auch Vorlieben des privaten Sammelns.

Im Stiftungsgut finden sich neben bedeutenden Werkgruppen von Picasso, Braque, Klee oder Kandinsky auch grossartige Werke der Minimal Art, der Zero, der Konkreten oder von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wie beispielsweise Markus Rätz und Meret Oppenheim.

Zu den jüngsten Ankäufen gehört eine Gruppe von Werken des in Bern wohnhaften Konzeptkünstlers Vaclav Pozarek sowie von Florian Slotawa, die beide vor dem Hintergrund des kubistischen Sammlungs-schwerpunktes von Hermann Rupf eine spannende Fortsetzung von künstlerischen Konzepten und Strategien zwischen Objekt und Raum darstellen.

Katalog und Plakat zur Ausstellung kaufen Mehr