Vision & mission statement


Bern is one of Switzerland's leading national and internationally acclaimed art locations. Thanks to the close cooperation between the Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee, Bern offers a unique holistic art and cultural experience. The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee are complementary starting points for encounters, stimulation, discourse and knowledge, where visitors can experience art in a new way both on site and in virtual space.

Joint mission

The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee have been under joint management since 2016. As closely linked yet independent institutions for art and culture, both museums facilitate encounters and discussions with the visual arts and related genres. They provide an overview of international developments and positions in the visual arts up to the present day. The Zentrum Paul Klee is a cultural center whose museum work is primarily dedicated to the field of modern art. The Kunstmuseum Bern focuses on art from the late Middle Ages to the present day. Since its foundation in 1806, the Kunstmuseum Bern has built up one of the most important and diverse art collections in Switzerland. It is internationally significant thanks to its collections of ancient art, 19th century Swiss art and modern art. Since its opening in 2005, the Zentrum Paul Klee has been the most important place in the world for researching and studying the work and artistic personality of Paul Klee and presents exhibitions on outstanding artists of the 20th century. As an interdisciplinary cultural center, the Zentrum Paul Klee combines the visual arts with music, literature and agriculture and has also made a name for itself as a congress and event venue.


Both venues complement each other and encourage discourse and insight. They are embedded in the cultural, social, political and media environment of the Canton of Berne and the federal capital. In a constantly changing society that is becoming increasingly pluralistic and digital, the educational and mediation work of both institutions has a new key role to play in enabling greater cultural participation. An inclusive educational concept in the broadest sense underpins all of their offerings. Through their national and international collaborations, the programs of both institutions provide impulses for social life in Switzerland. The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee invite visitors of all ages to enjoy and experience art on site and in virtual space, to engage creatively with the central challenges of our time and to develop personally.


Excerpt from the Kunstmuseum Bern mission statement

The Kunstmuseum Bern sees itself as a versatile platform for a polyphonic and interdisciplinary examination of works of art from the Middle Ages to the present day. Its aim is a lively, dynamic interplay between collection, preservation, research, exhibition and communication.


The guiding principle here is the endeavour to present pressing contemporary issues to a broad public from the resources of our collections and within a clearly recognizable curatorial framework. The focus on international contemporary art is also a starting point for the constant expansion of perspectives on canonized works of art and their historical integration.


We take up social discourses and create space for the discussion of controversial positions. We approach the works entrusted to us for preservation not only from an art-historical perspective, but also emphasize both their sensuality and their sometimes subversive character. In this way, we activate the multi-layered levels of meaning of works of art and emphasize the presence of art regardless of the era in which it was created. In all forms of mediation, we seek synergetic connections between physical and virtual presence.
The starting point for this is the collections of the Kunstmuseum Bern, which focus on important work complexes from different eras. These multi-layered collections are an expression of our historical relationship with Bern and a specific collection history - they are also the core of our identity with their omissions.

  • Das Kunstmuseum Bern um 1879

    History

    The Kunstmuseum Bern is one of the oldest art museums in Switzerland and was founded in 1849. In 1879, the art museum opened its doors at its current location on Hodlerstrasse in Bern, where it is still at home today.

    Read more
  • Besucher:innen im Hodlersaal

    Collection

    The collection of the Kunstmuseum Bern is one of the most important and diverse collections in Switzerland and is of international importance, above all thanks to the groups of works of classical modernism.

    Read more

This website uses cookies. You can find more information in the privacy policy.

Vision & Leitbild


Bern gehört zu den national führenden und international vielbeachteten Kunstplätzen der Schweiz. Durch die enge Kooperation des Kunstmuseum Bern und des Zentrum Paul Klee bietet Bern ein einzigartiges ganzheitliches Kunst- und Kulturerlebnis. Das Haus an der Hodlerstrasse und das Monument im Fruchtland sind komplementäre Ausgangspunkte der Begegnung, der Anregung, des Diskurses und der Erkenntnis, wo die Besucher:innen vor Ort und im virtuellen Raum Kunst neu erleben.

Gemeinsame Mission

Das Kunstmuseum Bern und das Zentrum Paul Klee sind seit 2016 unter einer gemeinsamen Leitung. Als eng miteinander verbundene und dennoch eigenständige Institutionen für Kunst und Kultur ermöglichen beide Häuser Begegnungen und Auseinandersetzungen mit der bilden-den Kunst und verwandten Gattungen. Sie geben einen Überblick über internationale Entwicklungen und Positionen der bildenden Kunst bis heute. Das Zentrum Paul Klee ist ein Kulturzentrum, das sich in seiner Museumsarbeit vor allem dem Bereich der Moderne widmet. Das Kunstmuseum Bern setzt Schwerpunkte vom Spätmittelalter bis zur Gegenwart. Seit seiner Gründung 1806 hat das Kunstmuseum Bern eine der wichtigsten und vielfältigsten Kunstsammlungen in der Schweiz aufgebaut. International bedeutend ist es dank der Werkgruppen der Alten Kunst, der Schweizer Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts und der Moderne. Das Zentrum Paul Klee ist seit seiner Eröffnung 2005 der weltweit wichtigste Ort für die Forschung und Beschäftigung mit dem Werk und der Künstlerpersönlichkeit Paul Klees und zeigt Ausstellungen zu herausragenden Künstler:innen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Als spartenübergreifendes Kulturzentrum verbindet das Zentrum Paul Klee die bildende Kunst mit Musik, Literatur bis hin zur Agrikultur und hat sich auch als Kongress- und Veranstaltungshaus einen Namen gemacht.


Beide Häuser ergänzen einander und regen an zu Diskurs und Erkenntnis. Sie sind eingebettet in das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche, politische und mediale Umfeld des Kantons Bern und der Bundeshauptstadt. Innerhalb einer sich stets verändernden, immer pluraler und digitaler werdenden Gesellschaft kommt der Bildungs- und Vermittlungsarbeit beider Häuser eine neue Schlüsselrolle zu, die mehr kulturelle Teilhabe ermöglicht. Ein im breitesten Sinne inklusiv verstandener Vermittlungsgedanke trägt sämtliche Angebote. Durch ihre nationalen und internationalen Kooperationen geben die Programme beider Häuser Impulse für das gesellschaftliche Leben der Schweiz. Das Kunstmuseum Bern und das Zentrum Paul Klee laden die Besucher:innen jeden Alters vor Ort und im virtuellen Raum ein, Kunst zu geniessen, zu erleben und sich im kreativen Umgang mit zentralen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit auseinanderzusetzen und sich persönlich weiterzuentwickeln.


Auszug aus dem Leitbild Kunstmuseum Bern

Das Kunstmuseum Bern versteht sich als wandlungsfähige Plattform für eine vielstimmige und interdisziplinäre Auseinandersetzung mit Kunstwerken vom Mittelalter bis in die Gegenwart. Sein Ziel ist ein lebendiges, dynamisches Zusammenspiel von Sammlung, Bewahrung, Forschung, Ausstellung und Vermittlung.


Leitend ist dabei das Bestreben, drängende Themen unserer Gegenwart aus der Ressource unserer Sammlungen und in einem klar erkenntlichen kuratorischen Rahmen einem breiten Publikum zur Diskussion zu stellen. Der Schwerpunkt internationale Gegenwartskunst ist auch ein Ausgangspunkt für die beständige Ausweitung der Sichtweisen auf kanonisierte Kunstwerke und ihre historische Einbindung.


Wir greifen gesellschaftliche Diskurse auf und schaffen Raum für die Diskussion auch kontroverser Positionen. Wir nähern uns den Werken, die uns zur Bewahrung anvertraut sind, nicht nur kunsthistorisch, sondern betonen sowohl deren Sinnlichkeit als auch ihren mitunter subversiven Charakter. Damit aktivieren wir die vielschichtigen Bedeutungsebenen von Kunstwerken und unterstreichen die Gegenwärtigkeit von Kunst unabhängig von der Epoche ihrer Entstehung. Bei allen Formen der Vermittlung suchen wir synergetische Verbindungen zwischen physischer und virtueller Präsenz.
Ausgangspunkt dafür sind die Sammlungen des Kunstmuseum Bern, deren Akzente in bedeutenden Werkkomplexen unterschiedlicher Epochen liegen. Diese vielschichtigen Sammlungen sind Ausdruck unserer historischen Beziehung zu Bern und einer spezifischen Sammlungsgeschichte – sie sind auch mit ihren Auslassungen Kern unserer Identität.

  • Das Kunstmuseum Bern um 1879

    Geschichte

    Das Kunstmuseum Bern ist eines der ältesten Kunstmuseen der Schweiz und wurde 1849 gegründet. 1879 öffnete das Kunstmuseum seine Tore am heutigen Standort an der Hodlerstrasse in Bern, wo es heute noch zu Hause ist.

    Mehr erfahren
  • Besucher:innen im Hodlersaal

    Sammlung

    Die Sammlung des Kunstmuseum Bern ist eine der wichtigsten und vielfältigsten Sammlungen in der Schweiz und besitzt vor allem dank den Werkgruppen der Klassischen Moderne internationale Bedeutung.

    Mehr erfahren

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung.