Vision & mission statement


Bern is one of Switzerland's leading national and internationally acclaimed art locations. Thanks to the close cooperation between the Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee, Bern offers a unique holistic art and cultural experience. The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee are complementary starting points for encounters, stimulation, discourse and knowledge, where visitors can experience art in a new way both on site and in virtual space.

Joint mission

The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee have been under joint management since 2016. As closely linked yet independent institutions for art and culture, both museums facilitate encounters and discussions with the visual arts and related genres. They provide an overview of international developments and positions in the visual arts up to the present day. The Zentrum Paul Klee is a cultural center whose museum work is primarily dedicated to the field of modern art. The Kunstmuseum Bern focuses on art from the late Middle Ages to the present day. Since its foundation in 1806, the Kunstmuseum Bern has built up one of the most important and diverse art collections in Switzerland. It is internationally significant thanks to its collections of ancient art, 19th century Swiss art and modern art. Since its opening in 2005, the Zentrum Paul Klee has been the most important place in the world for researching and studying the work and artistic personality of Paul Klee and presents exhibitions on outstanding artists of the 20th century. As an interdisciplinary cultural center, the Zentrum Paul Klee combines the visual arts with music, literature and agriculture and has also made a name for itself as a congress and event venue.


Both venues complement each other and encourage discourse and insight. They are embedded in the cultural, social, political and media environment of the Canton of Berne and the federal capital. In a constantly changing society that is becoming increasingly pluralistic and digital, the educational and mediation work of both institutions has a new key role to play in enabling greater cultural participation. An inclusive educational concept in the broadest sense underpins all of their offerings. Through their national and international collaborations, the programs of both institutions provide impulses for social life in Switzerland. The Kunstmuseum Bern and the Zentrum Paul Klee invite visitors of all ages to enjoy and experience art on site and in virtual space, to engage creatively with the central challenges of our time and to develop personally.


Excerpt from the Kunstmuseum Bern mission statement

The Kunstmuseum Bern sees itself as a versatile platform for a polyphonic and interdisciplinary examination of works of art from the Middle Ages to the present day. Its aim is a lively, dynamic interplay between collection, preservation, research, exhibition and communication.


The guiding principle here is the endeavour to present pressing contemporary issues to a broad public from the resources of our collections and within a clearly recognizable curatorial framework. The focus on international contemporary art is also a starting point for the constant expansion of perspectives on canonized works of art and their historical integration.


We take up social discourses and create space for the discussion of controversial positions. We approach the works entrusted to us for preservation not only from an art-historical perspective, but also emphasize both their sensuality and their sometimes subversive character. In this way, we activate the multi-layered levels of meaning of works of art and emphasize the presence of art regardless of the era in which it was created. In all forms of mediation, we seek synergetic connections between physical and virtual presence.
The starting point for this is the collections of the Kunstmuseum Bern, which focus on important work complexes from different eras. These multi-layered collections are an expression of our historical relationship with Bern and a specific collection history - they are also the core of our identity with their omissions.

  • Das Kunstmuseum Bern um 1879

    History

    The Kunstmuseum Bern is one of the oldest art museums in Switzerland and was founded in 1849. In 1879, the art museum opened its doors at its current location on Hodlerstrasse in Bern, where it is still at home today.

    Read more
  • Besucher:innen im Hodlersaal

    Collection

    The collection of the Kunstmuseum Bern is one of the most important and diverse collections in Switzerland and is of international importance, above all thanks to the groups of works of classical modernism.

    Read more

This website uses cookies. You can find more information in the privacy policy.

Vision et mission


Berne est l'une des places artistiques de Suisse les plus en vue au niveau national et les plus remarquées au niveau international. Grâce à l'étroite coopération entre leKunstmuseum Bern et le Zentrum Paul Klee, Berne offre une expérience artistique et culturelle globale unique. Le Kunstmuseum Bern et le Zentrum Paul Klee sont des points de départ complémentaires pour la rencontre, la stimulation, le discours et la connaissance, où les visiteurs font une nouvelle expérience de l'art sur place et dans l'espace virtuel.

Une mission commune

Le Kunstmuseum Bern et le Zentrum Paul Klee sont placés sous une direction commune depuis 2016. En tant qu'institutions d'art et de culture étroitement liées et pourtant autonomes, les deux établissements permettent des rencontres et des confrontations avec les beaux-arts et les genres apparentés. Elles donnent un aperçu des développements et des positions internationales des arts visuels jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Le Zentrum Paul Klee est un centre culturel dont le travail muséal se consacre principalement au domaine de l'art moderne. Le Kunstmuseum Bern met l'accent sur les périodes allant de la fin du Moyen Âge à l'époque contemporaine. Depuis sa fondation en 1806, le Kunstmuseum Bern a constitué l'une des collections d'art les plus importantes et les plus diversifiées de Suisse. Il jouit d'une renommée internationale grâce aux groupes d'œuvres d'art ancien, d'art suisse du 19e siècle et d'art moderne. Depuis son ouverture en 2005, le Zentrum Paul Klee est le lieu le plus important au monde pour la recherche et l'étude de l'œuvre et de la personnalité artistique de Paul Klee et présente des expositions sur des artistes exceptionnels du 20e siècle. En tant que centre culturel pluridisciplinaire, le Zentrum Paul Klee associe les arts plastiques à la musique, à la littérature et à l'agriculture et s'est également fait un nom en tant que centre de congrès et de manifestations.


Les deux maisons se complètent et incitent au discours et à la connaissance. Ils s'inscrivent dans l'environnement culturel, social, politique et médiatique du canton de Berne et de la capitale fédérale. Dans une société en constante évolution, de plus en plus plurielle et numérique, le travail de formation et de médiation des deux maisons joue un nouveau rôle clé, qui permet une plus grande participation culturelle. Toutes les offres sont basées sur un concept de médiation inclusif au sens le plus large du terme. Grâce à leurs coopérations nationales et internationales, les programmes des deux établissements donnent des impulsions à la vie sociale de la Suisse. Le Kunstmuseum Bern et le Zentrum Paul Klee invitent les visiteurs de tous âges, sur place et dans l'espace virtuel, à apprécier l'art, à en faire l'expérience et à se confronter, par une approche créative, aux défis centraux de notre époque et à se développer personnellement.


Extrait de la charte du Kunstmuseum Bern

Le Kunstmuseum Bern se veut une plateforme évolutive pour une confrontation polyphonique et interdisciplinaire avec des œuvres d'art du Moyen-Âge à nos jours. Son objectif est de créer une interaction vivante et dynamique entre collection, conservation, recherche, exposition et médiation.


L'objectif principal est de présenter à un large public des thèmes urgents de notre époque, à partir des ressources de nos collections et dans un cadre curatorial clairement identifiable. L'accent mis sur l'art contemporain international est également un point de départ pour l'élargissement constant des points de vue sur les œuvres d'art canonisées et leur intégration historique.


Nous abordons les discours sociaux et créons un espace de discussion pour les positions controversées. Nous n'abordons pas les œuvres qui nous sont confiées pour être conservées uniquement sous l'angle de l'histoire de l'art, mais nous soulignons aussi bien leur sensualité que leur caractère parfois subversif. Nous activons ainsi les multiples niveaux de signification des œuvres d'art et soulignons la contemporanéité de l'art, indépendamment de l'époque à laquelle il a été créé. Dans toutes les formes de médiation, nous recherchons des liens synergiques entre la présence physique et la présence virtuelle.
Les collections du Kunstmuseum Bern, dont l'accent est mis sur des complexes d'œuvres importants de différentes époques, constituent le point de départ de cette démarche. Ces collections aux multiples facettes sont l'expression de notre relation historique avec Berne et d'une histoire spécifique des collections - elles sont aussi, avec leurs omissions, au cœur de notre identité.

  • Das Kunstmuseum Bern um 1879

    Histoire

    Le Kunstmuseum Bern est l'un des plus anciens musées d'art de Suisse et a été fondé en 1849. En 1879, le musée des beaux-arts a ouvert ses portes à l'emplacement actuel de la Hodlerstrasse à Berne, où il se trouve encore aujourd'hui.

    En savoir plus
  • Besucher:innen im Hodlersaal

    Collection

    La collection de Kunstmuseum Bern est l'une des plus importantes et des plus diversifiées de Suisse et possède une importance internationale, notamment grâce aux groupes d'œuvres de l'art moderne classique.

    En savoir plus

Ce site web utilise des cookies. Pour plus d'informations, consultez la déclaration de confidentialité.